The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons was adopted by 122 UN member nations on July 7, 2017. The treaty criminalizes, for the first time under international law, not only the use of nuclear weapons but also the threat of use, as well as any development, production, testing, acquisition, stockpiling, transfer, deployment of nuclear weapons or assisting, encouraging or inducing others to carry out these illegal acts.

Official text (in English) of the new treaty here!

Related posts